Road Agent
Universal Pictures
a.k.a. "Texas Road Agent," 1953 USA reissue title
Filming title: "The Sonora Kid"

Directed by Charles Lamont
Written by Morgan Cox, Maurice Tombragel and Arthur Strawn
Story by Sherman Lowe and Arthur St. Claire
A Ben Pivar Production

Released December 10, 1941 (Anne Gwynne's birthday)

      The actual 1941 filming title was "The Sonora Kid."

     Duke Masters (Dick Foran) and his two pals, Pancho (Leo Carrillo) and Andy (Andy Devine), are undercover agents for an express company sent to round up a gang of bandits who have been holding up stages carrying gold to the cattlemen of the district. They begin by hijacking a gold shipment from the three bandits who took it from the stage. They take it to town and drop it at the bank.

     The money was the annual payment to the cattlemen, who are excitedly surrounding bank president Sam Leavitt (Samuel S. Hinds) and his lovely daughter Patricia (Anne Gwynne). Steve (John Gallaudet) and the two gunmen who helped him rob the stage are in the crowd. They report this unexpected turn of events to their boss, Big John Morgan (Morris Ankrum.) Morgan tries unsuccessfully to pin the original robbery on Duke and his pals. He later confers with Leavitt who is an unwilling tool in the holdups.

     Morgan tries to decoy Duke, Pancho and Andy out of town while his gang holds up the bank, but Duke, with the help of Leavitt's daughter, Patricia, beats them to it and cleans out the bank himself, taking the money to Leavitt's home to cache. But Morgan, Steve and the gang are in pursuit.

     Duke, Pancho and Andy make their escape, leaving behind the bank's money and a note to Leavitt, telling him that Duke is actually a special agent for Wells Fargo Express and that he can now run his bank honestly.



Dick Foran

Anne Gwynne ... Patricia Leavitt

Leo Carrillo

Andy Devine

Anne Nagel

Morris Ankrum

Samuel S. Hinds


Morgan Cox, Maurice Tombragel and Arthur Strawn- Writers 

Sherman Lowe and Arthur St. Claire- Original story

Charles Lamont- Director 

Ben Pivar- Producer

Jerome Ash- Cinematographer

Frank Gross- Editor

Jack Otterson- Art Direction


Copyright 2001, 2010